Tags

,

Can a coming-of-age film be set in a single day? Apparently, yes. Two kids alone at home on a Sunday, a neighbor who wants to use their oven to bake a cake and a pizza-delivery man who arrives with the pizza they ordered – with just these 4 characters and little else, Eimbcke creates a film about friendship, growing-up, sexuality and just life in general. I already loved the static images of different parts of the city and these buildings shot from these interesting angles right at the beginning of the film. But what really drew me in was the whole ritual around Flama pouring Coke into two glasses for himself and Moko Smiley. There’s something so natural and comfortable about the film.

I loved that the film lets us just hang out with these kids, watching them play Halo and eat chips and so on. The way that Flama and Moko seem to perfectly understand each other while discussing their strategy for the soccer game, their interaction during the game (“I’m not scolding you. I am advising you”) is all just really great. I totally bought into the idea that these kids are best friends and hang out together like this all the time.

The neighbor girl is fantastic too. I had a lot of fun with the way she keeps pushing their buttons and even though the whole thing about her hanging out at their place like this is a little absurd, it never bothered me for some reason. The pizza delivery guy’s flashback season was such a shift in the tone of the movie but it totally worked for me. Plus, it’s visually so different and interesting.

This whole sequence, not just this specific screenshot, but the whole thing, is CINECAST!ing awesome. Made me a little nostalgic Roll Eyes.

And I dare you to resist this kid’s charm!

After finishing the film, I was thinking about how the pizza guy and Flama’s parents jointly present a really dim picture of what adulthood holds. Despite this, the film doesn’t feel bleak or pessimistic and just the changing relationships in the course of this one day somehow seem to offer up hope. The film is funny, poignant, emotional and just such a good time overall.

Just one small criticism — the numerous fade-to-blacks bothered me a little. I guess they’re there to denote the passage of time where nothing happens but when it kept happening, I started to notice it a little too much.

Really looking f/w to Lake Tahoe now.

Grade: B

