Tags

, ,

Talking about goodlooking visuals, this film is impeccably photographed. I really loved a lot of things about this doc. This film has both, some of the most joyous and some of the most heartbreaking scenes I’ve watched all year. I fell in love with these kids and was totally rooting for them once they got to Kampala. The entire sequence in Kampala is full of drama and suspense and it is rare that a documentary feels as exciting as this one. However, there were other things that didn’t work as well for me. For one thing, all their back-stories, which are narrated straight to the camera felt awkwardly edited and there were moments where I felt some of it felt scripted and rehearsed. While it was devastating to see Nancy (who otherwise seems solid as a rock) tear up in front of the camera, I also cringed a bit in the scene where we see her discover her father’s grave. It’s a sublime and beautiful moment in the film with the sun just setting and everything looks incredibly beautiful but I almost felt like I was peeking in on what ought to be a private moment and somehow this made me uncomfortable. I realize that this may just be a personal reaction I had but some of this stuff kept me from embracing the film as completely as I’d have liked to.

Grade: C+

