Tags

, ,

What really held this movie together and made it interesting for me were the two leads. Both Melissa Leo and Misty Upham are really perfectly cast and manage to wordlessly convey the different way in which they have each responded to disappointment and loss in their lives. Melissa Leo really manages to look weather-beaten and manages to make her characters’ rash, dangerous decisions seem totally credible. I thought all the cultural differences were handled really well. However, the way suspense is created and sustained through the film felt awkward and amateurish. Similarly the scenes between Melissa Leo and her older son didn’t work for me either. Ultimately, I thought the film was just okay but the performances and the locale (which was really fascinating to me) made the movie worthwhile.

Grade: C+

