Tags

,

The film follows a few volatile weeks in the lives of two sets of half-brothers following the death of their father. I really enjoyed the way this movie feels so Biblical in terms of the inevitability of the tragedy and the way it depicts the long-standing consequences of one man’s action but still feels really small and intimate and quiet. I largely agree with everything jbissell said in his review.
While I shared his skepticism towards the way the plot unfolds, the authenticity of the characters and the place made me believe in the storyline. I loved the way each of the brothers is quite different from the other and yet they are totally devoted to one another. Loved the cinematography (and especially in this regard and in the way even the minor characters seem to be from a very particular place and time, the movie reminded me of All the Real Girls as well). Michael Shannon is amazing as Son and conveys all the scars of abandonment. The supporting cast is all pretty great as well. jbissell mentioned Douglas Ligon as Boy but really I thought everyone was perfectly cast. One thing that I didn’t see anyone mentioning is the character of Shampoo played by Alan Wilkins. I found myself going back and forth about this character. Initially, although I was happy for the comic relief he provided, I was a bit unsure about the use of Shampoo as a way to get information across the two groups that wouldn’t otherwise communicate and that stuck out at me.¬† Then I started to think of him in terms of the Greek chorus in a play (especially since netflix called it a greek tragedy I think) and got more comfortable with it. Anyway, that was just a minor point that I found myself thinking about.

Overall, really liked the film a lot and am glad I caught it before the Filmspots.

Grade: B

